Welcome to EYFS at Walliscote

Welcome to Reception! The Reception year provides the building blocks for children’s future learning – we want the children to be happy, confident, resilient learners of the future.

At Walliscote, we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum (EYFS).

The EYFS Curriculum has seven main areas of learning

Prime Areas (these underpin all areas of learning)

1. Personal, Social and Emotional Development

2. Communication, Language and Literacy

3. Physical Development

Specific Areas

4. Literacy

5. Mathematics

6. Understanding the World

7. Expressive Arts and Design

We deliver the curriculum through a  practical, playful approach to learning, based on the needs and interests of our children. We teach children individually, in small groups and as a whole class. Through a combination of teacher led activities and continuous provision opportunities, we encourage children to develop their learning independently through exploration and challenge.

The “Characteristics of Effective Learning” are at the heart of the Early Years Curriculum and explore the different ways in which children learn. They highlight the importance of playing and learning, active learning and thinking critically.

All the learning experiences we plan for the children allow them to utilise and develop these skills. Our learning environments, both inside and outside, are stimulating and exciting, and relevant to the needs and age/stage of our children.

We ensure all resources are easily accessible to support the development of children’s independence and accessibility of the environment.

Further information about our EYFS curriculum can be found here.